Does anyone have a source for "Mylar" plastic sheet?

Go down

Does anyone have a source for "Mylar" plastic sheet?

Post  MichaelLoos on Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:45 pm

Basically, the title says it all...
The first time I came across this material was about 15 years ago when I was talking to Mr Kelischek of Susato Instruments, they used it for crumhorn and other Early woodwind reeds. All my effort to get hold of this material in Germany failed.
When I started playing Italian zampogna I soon found there are basically two kinds of plastic reeds - the louder ones which are made from telephone cards (your platinum credit card should do the job, too), and the slightly quieter ones with the much more beautiful tone which are made from a cream or ivory-coloured material which turned out to be Mylar. So again I tried to find a source, and failed again...
Does anyone here have any experience with mysterious Mylar - where to get it, how to work it, any information is appreciated?
MichaelLoos

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does anyone have a source for "Mylar" plastic sheet?

Post  verdatum on Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:37 pm

True Mylar, is basically a stretched PET. PET (polyethylene terephthalate) is the type of plastic used in bottled-water bottles. I've only ever heard of Mylar being produced as a film; never as a thick sheet. (And contrary to popular belief, those metallic party balloons are not Mylar; they are made from a metalized vinyl sheet. People just assume that all metalized plastic film is Mylar.)

How do you know that your mystery plastic turned out to be Mylar? The phrase "Cream or ivory colored material" makes me think of polyurethane resin, since many formulations cure to an off-white color. However, polyurethane is more commonly used as a high detail casting resin, not for making stock sheet plastic.

Naturally, most any plastic can be tinted to nearly any color imaginable.