Making and Playing Bagpipes
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pewter Problem

3 posters

Go down

Pewter Problem Empty Pewter Problem

Post  Stu Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:31 am

I've been casting pewter onto my pipes for about 5 years now and never had a problem till the other day. Normally it turns off nice and easy in short curls, this time fine powder sprayed everywhere!

Stubborn as I am, I did not just quit and perhaps figure out the issue first. I just kept at it; then the chanter snapped! I turned the air blue for a while, put my tools away and came in from the shop.

The metal acted as if it was crystallized. I use Britannia metal, tin/bismuth/antimony. Only thing I can think is I recover the machined off pewter and remelt it. Perhaps this is the issue? This particular batch has gone through about 5 times now; but with the now highish price of pewter, I hate to use it once and chuck, or give to a friend to make cheap jewellery as this batch is going.

Any thoughts folks?

Stu
Stu
Stu

Back to top Go down

Pewter Problem Empty Re: Pewter Problem

Post  Yuri Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:37 pm

All I can think of is that each time you melt the amalgam (cos that's what it is), there is some oxidisation. Visible as the "scum" floating to the top. Well, possibly the tin does oxidise at a different rate, so the proportions of the metals keep chnaging with each melt, and in the end you end up with something quite different from what you started with.
I only did this inlay a very few times, and none of them on bagpipes. I used ordinary solder, which round here is 50-50 tin/led. Works really well.